Professor Hermann Einsele

Steering Committee Member

University of Würzburg, Würzburg, DE

Professor Hermann Einsele currently holds the chair position of Professor of Internal Medicine and Director of Department of Internal Medicine II at Julius Maximilians University in Würzburg. He is also a visiting professor at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, WA, USA, and at the City of Hope Hospital, Duarte, CA, USA. Professor Einsele held the position of Vice Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Würzburg until 2015 and is currently the Vice-President of the University of Würzburg.

Professor Einsele’s research interests include a wide array of blood cancers, with a focus on Multiple Myeloma (MM), stem cell transplantation and novel immunotherapies, including bispecific antibodies and CAR T cells. His laboratory works across a wide range of projects aimed at understanding both mechanism of disease and mechanisms of drug activity. In particular, he has been involved in the development of panobinostat, and is a pioneer for T cell therapy and novel immunotherapy. 

Professor Einsele completed his medical training at the Universities of Tübingen, Manchester, and London, before becoming a research fellow in the Department of Haematology, Oncology, Rheumatology, and Immunology at the University of Tübingen, Germany. He was board certified in Internal Medicine in 1991 and in Haematology/Oncology in 1996. In 1999 was promoted to the role of Associate Professor before being appointed a full Professor in 2004.

Professor Einsele is an Honorary Fellow of the British Royal College of Pathologists and respected as one of the top MM treatment experts in Europe. In 1999, he became Chairman of the German Study Group on Multiple Myeloma and is a member of the Board of the German Lymphoma Net, the German Society of Stem Cell Transplantation and the European Myeloma Net. In 2003 he received the van Bekkum Award, the highest Annual European award for research in the field of stem cell transplantation. In 2011 he was elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists (London), and in 2012 received the Nobel Lecturer Stem Cell Biology/Transplantation award and the Nobel Forum Karolinska Institute award. In 2014 he became a Member of the Academy of Sciences and Literature, in Mainz. He has published more than 600 articles in peer-reviewed journals.